

BOROUGH OF NEW MILFORD

PLANNING BOARD Reorganization – Online Virtual Meeting

JANUARY 18, 2022

Chair Mottola called the meeting of the New Milford Planning Board to order at 7:37 pm. The Chair read the Open Public Meeting Act, The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

At this time board attorney Arthur Neiss administered the oath to new/reappointed board members Jeffrey Forster, Hedy Grant, Avery Hoffman, Tammi Kaminski and Chirag Trivedi.

ROLL CALL

Members Present: Ms. Tina DeLucia, Mr. Jeffrey Forster, Councilperson Hedy Grant, Councilperson Ira Grotsky, Mr. Avery Hoffman, Ms. Tammi Kaminski, Mr. Frank Mottola, Mr. Chirag Trivedi and Mr. Arthur Neiss – Atty. **Absent:** Mr. Jim McCarten **Excused:** Mr. John DaCosta, Mr. Kevin Boyer – Eng., Mr. Paul Grygiel – Planner

At this time Chair Mottola dissolved all 2021 positions and turned the meeting over to Mr. Neiss for election of Chair. Mr. Neiss opened nominations for Chair. Councilperson Grant nominated Frank Mottola for chair second by Ms. DeLucia. With no other nominations Mr. Neiss called the vote. In favor: Ms. DeLucia, Mr. Forster, Councilperson Grant, Councilperson Grotsky, Ms. Kaminski, Mr. Hoffman, Mr. Trivedi. Abstained: Mr. Mottola. Opposed: none. Motion passed.

Mr. Neiss then called for nominations for Vice Chair. Councilperson Grotsky nominated John DaCosta second by Councilperson Grant. With no other nominations Mr. Neiss called the vote. In favor: Ms. DeLucia, Mr. Forster, Councilperson Grant, Councilperson Grotsky, Ms. Kaminski, Chair Mottola, Mr. Hoffman, Mr. Trivedi. Abstained: none. Opposed: none. Motion passed. Noted Mr. DaCosta is not in attendance.

Last position is Secretary, Councilperson Grant nominated Tammi Kaminski who is the representative from the environmental commission second Councilperson Grotsky. With no other nominations Mr. Neiss called the vote. In favor: Ms. DeLucia, Mr. Forster, Councilperson Grant, Councilperson Grotsky, Mr. Mottola, Mr. Hoffman, Mr. Trivedi. Abstained: Ms. Kaminski. Opposed: none. Motion passed.

Chair Mottola thanked Mr. Neiss. He informed the new members there is mandatory training which information will be sent to them. All new members were invited to introduce themselves.

Review RFQ's and appoint professionals for attorney, engineer and planner. RFQ's for engineer and planner are not requested by this board and we rely on the Mayor and Council's choice. Chair Mottola asked if the members would be interested for additional applicants. Mr. Neiss was placed in the waiting room for this discussion. Councilperson Grant expressed her satisfaction of Mr. Neiss as attorney and would like to see him remain. Ms. DeLucia and Chair

Mottola expressed agreement also. The planner and engineer were also discussed with comments from our council members expressing their appreciation of both along with Chair Mottola. A motion to adopt a resolution for to appoint Arthur Neiss as board attorney was made by Councilperson Grant second by Ms. DeLucia. In favor: - All. Opposed: None Abstain: None. The motion passed.

Chair Mottola requested a motion to appoint Paul Grygiel as planner. Motion made by Councilperson Grant second by Ms. DeLucia. In favor: - All. Opposed: None Abstain: None. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Ms. DeLucia to adopt a resolution to appoint Kevin Boyer as engineer second by Councilperson Grotsky. In favor: All Opposed: None Abstain: None. The motion passed.

At this time Mr. Neiss was brought back into the meeting.

Resolution of 2022 Meetings: it was decided the December 27 meeting was removed from the schedule.

A motion was made to adopt the 2022 schedule of meetings as changed by Mr. Forster second Ms. DeLucia. In favor: - All. Opposed: None Abstain: None. The motion passed.

Minutes: December 21, 2021 – after review a motion to approve the minutes made by Councilperson Grotsky second Mr. Forster All favor, Opposed none. Abstained: Councilperson Grant, Mr. Hoffman, Ms. Kaminski and Mr. Trivedi

Communications – none

Old Business: none

New Business: - none

Other Business - none

Public comments – there are no members of the public present.

Next weeks meeting on January 25 is cancelled.

There being no further business Chairman Mottola entertained a motion to adjourn. Motion made by Ms. DeLucia second by Councilperson Grant at 8:40 p.m., all in favor.

Respectfully submitted, Lisa C. Sereno